National and international standards – BrailleNet

National and international standards

Web accessibility

The W3C is a non-profit organisation which develops protocols and guidelines for the Web. In 1996 the Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) was founded to establish accessibility guidelines for the different components of the web, including web content, web browsers and media players, authoring tools and evaluation tools.

The WAI has created several working groups that work on guidelines including:

  • Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)
  • Accessible Rich Internet Applications (ARIA) for dynamic web applications built in JavaScript
  • Authoring Tools Accessibility Guidelines (ATAG) for content management systems (CMS)
  • User Agent Accessibility [...]

Read article at

Article Taxonomies

Categories: , , Terms: , , , ,