IPC reveals 2021 International Women’s Day Recognition award winners – WWR

IPC reveals 2021 International Women’s Day Recognition award winners

Posted on 8 March 202116 August 2021 by Editor Prime

On this day as the world collectively raises its voice towards gender equality, the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) is lifting up three notable leaders who have done just that to earn the 2021 International Women’s Day Recognition awards.

Kate Caithness of World Curling Federation (Builder category), Iranian Para archer Zahra Nemati (Next Generation Leader category) and World Para Powerlifting (National Paralympic Committee/International Federation category) were named this year’s winners.

The annual recognition, which coincides on 8 March’s International Women’s Day, celebrates primarily women in the Paralympic Movement who have inspired and emulated the Paralympic ideals and are positive role models.

This is the second year the IPC International Women’s Day Recognition has expanded into categories since its inception in 2013. The winners were decided by the IPC’s Women in Sport Committee, chaired by Rita van Driel, who said:

“For 18 years now, one of the central aims of the IPC Women in Sport Committee has been to work to increase the number of women in leadership positions across the Paralympic Movement. Our International Women’s Day Recognition awards are a celebration of those who are breaking down barriers [...]

Read article at worldwheelchair.rugby

Article Taxonomies

Categories: Terms: , ,