Fair Housing Amendments Act

Fair Housing Amendments Act

If you have questions or need assistance contact Michael Hellmann ADA Specialist mhellmann@wilc.org or call 914-682-3926 (voice) 866-933-5390 (VP/TTY)

The Fair Housing Amendments Act (FHAA) was signed into law on September 13, 1988 and became effective on March 12, 1989. The Act amended Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex or national origin in housing sales, rentals or financing.

The Fair Housing Act protects people from discrimination when they are renting, buying, or securing financing for any housing. The prohibitions specifically cover discrimination because of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability and the presence of children.

The Fair Housing Act covers most housing. In some circumstances, the Act exempts owner-occupied buildings with no more than four units, single-family housing sold or rented without the use of a broker, and housing operated by organizations and private clubs that limit occupancy to members.

Learn About the Fair Housing Act
What is Prohibited?
In the Sale and Rental of Housing:

No one may take any of the following actions based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status or handicap:

  • Refuse to rent or sell housing
  • Refuse to negotiate for housing
  • Make housing unavailable
  • Deny a [...]

Read article at wilc.org

Article Taxonomies

Categories: Terms: , , , ,